Baking Win: Parts Two and Three

Hello baking friends and how time flies. Seems like it was just yesterday that I was posting about almond flour and now its two weeks later, the temperature has dropped and the skies are the color of cement. But, not to worry. Fall is the season for baking, after all, and though all may be a bleaker shade of grey outside, indoors it’s warm and smelling of cinnamon and nostalgia.

Anyhow, I’m back today to finish posting about my first experiment with almond flour in what turned out to be a fairly significant win for me as a baking hobbyist.

So, once my almond flour was made I set out to bake carrot cake cupcakes using a recipe from the always wonderful Elana’s Pantry. But, of course, I’m never one to follow a recipe without adding a few things of my own. So, here’s what I used:

  • 1 1/2 cups almond flour
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp ginger
  • 3 eggs
  • 2 tbsp grapeseed oil
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1 1/2 cups grated carrots
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts
  • 1/2 cup raisins

R0011189

1. In a large bowl, combine almond flour, salt, baking soda and spices.

2. In a separate bowl, mix together eggs, honey and oil.

3. Stir wet ingredients into dry.

R0011190

4. Mix in carrots, walnuts and raisins.

5. Scoop a heaping 1/4 cup batter into a buttered muffin tin.

R0011191

6. Bake at 325F/ 170C for 22-25 minutes.

7. Pierce cupcakes with a toothpick to check if they are done. If the toothpick comes out clean then they are done!

8. Cool to room temp.

R0011193

While cupcakes are cooling it’s time to make the frosting! Carrot cake isn’t complete without some cream cheese frosting. Here’s a recipe I experimented with that was a total success:

  • 8 tbsp cream cheese at room temp (nice and soft!)
  • 3 tbsp plain yogurt
  • 3 tbsp honey
  • 1 tsp (ish) vanilla extract

Mix the ingredients together until you have creamy, smooth frosting. When cupcakes are cool, frost and serve!

R0011205

All in all, this made for about 10 cupcakes which did not last the night! My fiancé, who is a fan of Starbuck’s carrot cake, told me that these cupcakes were better  (he sure knows how to say the right thing!) and our dinner guest told me she would buy these at a shop!

R0011194

Anyhow, I felt like a baking hero after whipping up these treats and I will certainly be making them again. They’re a great dessert alternative that doesn’t sacrifice taste for healthiness. Give them a try and let me know what you think!

Love and cupcakes,

G

 

Leave a comment