Night Running

Everything about today was wrong. The alarm went off at the wrong time, I missed my morning three mile run, the dog chewed off her splint (she broke her metacarpal three weeks ago) which meant I would have to take her to the vet as soon as I got back from work thereby pushing back the run AGAIN. At work, I had an angry student who decided to take out his frustrations on me (long story) and my hubby was in a bad mood.

Peg Leg MacGee

I felt how my dog looks in this photograph. Bummed.

However, finally I was able to get to my run. So far, I’ve been a morning runner. There’s something soothing about the freshness of the day and the sense of having accomplished something before you’ve even walked into work. Also, for some reason I just feel safer running in the morning, which is a topic I’d like to talk more about in a future post.

As I set out, I felt heavy from the day. Worn out. Tired. Wondering if my legs had it in them to go the three miles. My goal was to run straight through. At least that’s what it had originally been. But, after the day that I’d had, I wondered if I could even make two. However, once I got started it didn’t take long to find my rhythm. Pretty soon, instead of thinking about my crappy day, I was enjoying the sound of the kids at the playground, the feeling of the evening air as I ran through it–cool and crisp, and the color of the sky as the sun began to drop towards the horizon. Before I knew it, two miles had whizzed by and I was heading into my third with smooth, steady strides.

I ran my three miles today straight through. In fact, I ran 3.35. And, by the time I got back to my house to do my strength training, I felt like a new, better me: in control of my run and in control of me. Tonight, I’ll go to bed not thinking about the crappy day I had but about the herons fishing in the river, the sound of the carp as it leapt out of the water and splashed back in, the dragonflies laying still on the pavement. I’ll think about all the good things we might miss if we don’t lace up, get out there, and move.

There’s something to be said for night running. I may just be converted.

Which do you prefer: morning or evening runs? I’d love to hear your thoughts!

xoxo

Leave a Reply

