Week 2 Completed! And Cake!!

Hello there runners, readers, lovers of life! I’m a bit behind on my posting, but my silence is no indication of my running! I’ve kept up with the training and even threw in a game of tennis in there on Sunday and STILL ran 3 miles!

Quickly, here are my stats from last week (thank you Runkeeper, or as I like to call her “Ms. Lady”):

Monday: Rest Day

Tuesday: 3.35 miles. 36:31 time. 10:55 average pace. 298 calories burned.

Wednesday: 9km on stationary bike. 30:00 time.

Thursday: 3.01 miles. 34:43 time. 11:32 average pace (slow!). 263 calories burned.

Friday:  Rest Day

Saturday: 4.01 miles. 44.48 time. 11:10 average pace (slow and steady). 357 calories burned.

Sunday: 3.01 miles. 33:58 time. 11:17 average pace (I am a turtle). 265 calories burned.

Though a little bit slow, I’m happy with the miles I’m getting in. In particular, I’m especially chuffed with that spectacular Saturday where I ran FOUR MILES! That is a first for me ever. So, naturally, I had to celebrate by making this cake! I followed the recipe pretty closely though I didn’t sift the flour because I don’t have a sifter nor did I use cream of tartar because I’m in South Korea and probably not going to be finding that in the grocery store anytime soon!

Anyhow, the cake was moist and delicious, though I recommend doubling the recipe to make two round cakes so you can stack them, otherwise, it’s a little slim. Also, I did a Google search on some frosting options using yogurt and cream cheese and ended up using 1/4 cup softened butter, 1/4 cup softened cream cheese and I’d say about  1/2 cup of plain yogurt (Greek is even better if you have some). I also added some honey to taste and a teaspoon or so of almond extract though vanilla would be just as nice. I beat it all together until it was a creamy, smooth consistency. I would also keep it chilled in the fridge until you’re ready to frost your cake, otherwise you might have a runny mess on your hands like I did (see picture of plate below!).

Anyhow, I made the cake, let it cool and when it was ready, first spread a light coating of strawberry jam on the top of the first cake and then added a thin layer of the frosting on top of that. Then, I stacked the other cake on top and frosted the heck out of it, top and sides. Finally, I used some defrosted frozen blueberries and used them as a decorative and delicious topping. Voila!

Cake!

Haha! You can see some frosting smears and the juice of the blueberries staining the cake, but you get the general idea. The important thing is that it was truly delicious and hubby approved.

Today I start on my Week 3 of training. Also, I signed up for a 10K charity race which will be on November 15th in Seoul running along the Han River, my favorite place! I’ve never done anything like this before in my life. I am equal parts excited and terrified. But, a large part of the reason I’ve chosen to start running was to face my fears and show myself that I am capable of accomplishing my goals if I put my mind, my efforts and my heart into it.  Here goes nothing!

Anyhow, enjoy the cake recipe! Let me know if you have questions about it or anything else.

Happy running & baking!

xoxo

Leave a Reply

